ILSR Named Community Broadband Organization of the Year for 2012

Date: 13 Sep 2012 | posted in: Media Coverage, MuniNetworks | 0 Facebooktwitterredditmail

NATOA Press Release, September 8, 2012

In a September 8, 2102, Press Release, the National Association of Telecommunication Officers and Advisors (NATOA) named the Institute for Local Self-Reliance one of the Community Broadband Organizations of the Year for 2012. The award will be officially presented at their 2012 annual conference in New Orleans on September 27-29.

NATOA highlighted the organization’s contribution to the development of broadband and “…for persistent reporting on community broadband initiatives and their opponents, thereby educating and informing the public and policy-makers nationwide.”

Other recipients include:

Massachussetts Broadband Institute (MBI), John Windhaousen, Blair Levin, Clakamas County, Oregon, the Cities of Wilson, North Carolina, and Port Angeles, Washington, and the Urbana-Champaign Big Broadband (UC2B) project.

Joanne Hovis, president of the NATOA Board of Directors said about the awards:

“We are thrilled to recognize such a broad spectrum of people, communities, and organizations that lead the nation in advocating for and improving government and public options in broadband technology. These pioneers have distinguished themselves in their extraordinary efforts, achievements and innovation in community-based approaches to broadband.”